Mayor Joe Hogsett Announces Programming for Displaced Carrier Employees | EmployIndy

Recent News & Blog

Mayor Joe Hogsett Announces Programming for Displaced Carrier Employees

Posted on July 26th, 2017 in Press Releases Tags:

This press release was published by the City of Indianapolis.

$1.2 million will be dedicated to transition assistance and hiring incentives

INDIANAPOLIS – In the hours after Carrier announced the closing of their Indianapolis manufacturing plant, Mayor Joe Hogsett signed Executive Order #2, creating the Carrier Task Force. Today, Mayor Hogsett announced the recommendations of that task force – a two-pronged approach that will utilize funds to support affected workers, encourage future career opportunities, and foster economic growth.

“By lessening the financial burden on our neighbors during this transition period, while incentivizing companies to hire these talented individuals, these resources will provide support for the short, and long-term success of our displaced workers and their families,” said Mayor Hogsett.

In April 2016, Mayor Hogsett announced that the Carrier Task Force would establish a fund to assist affected workers with money secured from Carrier and its parent company United Technologies Corporation. The $1.2 million figure corresponds to the local tax incentive package accepted by the companies in 2011.

Today’s announcement outlined two forms of assistance:

Transition Assistance
In an effort to support affected Carrier workers in their search for new employment opportunities, $1,000 per employee has been dedicated from the Mayor’s Carrier Fund for transition assistance. EmployIndy will administer a supportive services program designed to supplement costs associated with employment transition. Affected Carrier employees can claim up to $1,000 to for such expenses as transportation, childcare, utility bills, and tools or other work-related equipment.

Business Hiring and Retention Incentive Program
The City will take steps to ensure workers displaced by the closing of the Carrier plant successfully complete the transition to new, stable careers. $1,000 per affected employee has been set aside from the Mayor’s Carrier Fund for a Business Hiring and Retention Incentive Program, to be administered by the Department of Metropolitan Development (DMD) in partnership with Develop Indy.

Those that hire and retain a displaced Carrier worker for at least one year, in a position that pays at least $16 per hour, will be eligible for up to $1,000 in incentives. The incentives will supplement direct costs associated with hiring and onboarding that are not covered by Trade Adjustment Assistance.

“When employees are displaced from steady employment, we have a responsibility to leave no stone unturned to provide resources that will ease the financial and emotional obstacles they will face,” said City-County Council President Maggie Lewis. “The money allocated for the Carrier fund will provide much-needed assistance that will help affected employees with their job search and engage our business community in an innovative manner that is bound to produce meaningful jobs.”

Work is already underway to engage affected Carrier workers and connect them with local companies. Employees may immediately begin the formal application process to formally apply by visiting the WorkOne West location at 3400 Lafayette Road. Local businesses interested in the incentive program may email, or contact DMD at 317-327-5355 or Develop Indy at 317-464-2218.

About the Carrier Task Force
The Carrier Task Force was created by mayoral executive order in the hours after the Carrier plant closing was announced, and the group has meet regularly to gather local, state, and federal resources. Task Force members include Senators Joe Donnelly and Dan Coats, Congressman André Carson, State Representative Karlee Macer, Deputy Mayor of Economic Development Angela Smith-Jones, Deputy Mayor of Community Development Jeff Bennett, City-County Councillor Jared Evans, City-County Councillor Marilyn Pfisterer, Chuck Jones, Michael Huber, Leigh Anne Downes, Michael Gehrich, and Corinna Vonderwell. More information can be found at